List Of Cricket World Cup Winners

Cricket is among the most popular sports that you can find out there in the world. Out of cricket tournaments played, the Cricket World Cup is the most prominent event. The Cricket World Cup is held once every four years. The very first World Cup was played back in the year 1975. While keeping that in mind, let’s take a look at the list of cricket World Cup winners from history.

List of cricket world cup winners

What Is The Cricket World Cup? 

Every four years, the Cricket World Cup is an international cricket championship competition. The International Cricket Council is in charge of organizing the world’s best one-day cricket competition (ICC). The world’s top cricket teams participate in the competition, playing a series of games to decide who will take home the World Cup trophy.

Since its debut in England in 1975, the Cricket World Cup has grown to be one of the most renowned and well-attended competitions in world sport. The number of teams and the tournament’s format have changed from edition to edition as a result of the tournament’s many adjustments throughout the years.

The current Cricket World Cup structure is a round-robin style with 10 teams, followed by knockout rounds with semifinals and a final. The tournament is normally held over a number of weeks, with a new nation serving as host each time.

List Of Cricket World Cup Winners

Now you have a clear idea about the list of cricket world cup winners. 

  • 1975 and 1979 – West Indies

The team of the 1970s, led by Clive Lloyd and Viv Richards, won the first two editions of the Cricket World Cup, showcasing their dominance in the early years of the tournament.

  • 1983 – India

Led by Kapil Dev, India pulled off a historic upset by beating the West Indies in the final, and this victory is still remembered fondly by cricket fans around the world.

  • 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015 -Australia

The most successful team in the history of the Cricket World Cup, Australia has won the tournament five times and has been a formidable force in cricket, with some of the best players in the world.

  • 1992 – Pakistan

Pakistan won the World Cup in 1992, beating England by 22 runs in the final, a remarkable achievement for a team that had been written off before the tournament began.

  • 1996 – Sri Lanka

In 1996, Sri Lanka won the World Cup, beating Australia by seven wickets in the final, and this victory marked a historic moment for the country, who had never won a major cricket tournament before.

  • 2011 – India

India won the World Cup again in 2011, beating Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final, with a talented squad that included the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Yuvraj Singh.

  • 2019 – England

The most recent winner of the Cricket World Cup, England won the tournament for the first time in 2019, defeating New Zealand in a thrilling final that went to a super over, showcasing their strength as a team under pressure.

Final Words

In one-day cricket, winning the Cricket World Cup is considered the pinnacle of success, and the winning teams are regarded as the greatest in the world. The competition continues to enthrall cricket fans across the world and has created many memorable moments, including historical shocks and outstanding individual performances.

The cricket world up 2023 tournament is about to be held later this year. We will update with the winner of this year’s tournament as well after the event finishes. 

Check More

  1. Longest Highway In India
  2. GPA Meaning
  3. Abroad Study Scholarships
  4. Monthly Current Affairs Pdf

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top