SSC Exam Pattern CGL And Syllabus [2023]

The SSC CGL Exam, or the Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level Examination, is one of the most competitive exams that you can find out there in India as of now. Thousands of candidates sit for this exam every year, hoping that they will be able to secure a government job. If you are looking forward to sitting for this exam, you will come across the need to learn more about SSC exam pattern CGL. 

SSC Exam Pattern CGL

The SSC CGL Exam Has Four Different Stages. These Four Stages Are Known As Tier I, Tier II, Tier III, And Tier IV. Let’s Take A Quick Look At How The Exam Would Be Like. 

SSC CGL Tier-I Exam Pattern

The SSC CGL Tier-! Exam is a computer based exam, which is taking place online. It consists of four different sections, which include General Intelligence and Reasoning, General Awareness, English Comprehension, and Quantitative Aptitude. Each section carries 50 marks, and the total exam has 200 marks. You will be provided with 60 minutes to follow these four sections. The pass mark for each section would be 25. If you can get 25 out of 50 for all sections, you can proceed to the next tier of the exam.

You need to keep in mind that the Tier I exam is objective, and it has MCQs (Multiple Choice Questions). If you can provide a correct answer, you will be getting 2 points. But if you give a wrong answer, you will be deducting 0.50 marks out of what you have.

SSC CGL Tier-II Exam Pattern

The SSC CGL Tier II exam is also an online examination, which is made out of four parts. These four partis include quantitative aptitude, English language and comprehension, statistics, and general studies finance and economics. 200 marks will be awarded for each section of this exam. You will need to score at least 100 marks per section to get through the exam. However, the pass mark would be 500 out of 800. If you can score more, you have a higher chance of getting through the exam.

The SSC CGL Tier-II exam is an objective type of examination as well. You will be provided with a set of MCQs in here. Similar to the previous tier, a correct answer will provide 2 points and a wrong answer will deduct 0.50 marks. 

SSC CGL Tier-III Exam Pattern

The SSC CGL Tier-III is a descriptive type exam. In other words, this tier of the examination is used to analyze your writing skills. The writing skills that you have in both Hindi language and English language will be considered. Total marks allocated for this exam is 100, and you will be provided with 60 minutes to provide the answers. When sitting for this part of the exam, you will have to write an essay, application, or a letter in either Hindi or English.

SSC CGL Tier-IV Exam Pattern 

The SSC CGL Tier-IV exam will determine your computer proficiency. However, this examination will be given only to candidates who apply for specific positions. To sit for the exam, you will need to pass the SSC CGL Tier-II exam.

Final Words

By now, you have a better idea about the structure of SSC CGL exam. This exam is covering numerous topics, and you will need to be well prepared to face it. Make sure that you stick to appropriate study materials and allocate a considerable amount of time to be ready. Since this is a very competitive exam, you should be well-prepared to get through it and secure a government job in India. 

Check Also – SBI PO Prelims Result

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top